My Real Estate Focus at Haas: Daniel D’Orazi

One of the core reasons I came to Haas was to learn from and connect with Haas’ vast real estate network.  Whether it’s through the Berkeley Real Estate Club, the ACRE Program, the Fisher Center, or a distinguished network of alumni and faculty, Haas offers a wide array of opportunities to get involved in the real estate industry.  In the short time I have been a part of the Haas network, I have been extremely impressed with the multitude of resources available to students interested in real estate.

This fall, I had the opportunity to attend two major industry events.  The first of these events was the Fisher Center’s Policy Advisory Board Meeting, which is typically reserved for established real estate professionals.  The Fisher Center is one of the nation’s leading real estate research and outreach centers.  Students and alumni from Haas are able to take advantage of a variety of resources available through the center.   One of the unique opportunities the Fisher Center offers is the chance to attend their annual Policy Advisory Board Meeting and Conference held in Pebble Beach, California.   The conference brings together over 200 distinguished industry leaders to discuss the changing face of the real estate business, current trends and critical issues of concerns to real estate professionals.   Gaining access to this event was an incredible opportunity to learn from and speak with professionals at the forefront of the industry.   In addition, I was able to enjoy three days in one of the most beautiful places in California with seven of my fellow classmates who all share a passion for real estate.   When we were not immersing ourselves in the conference events, we unwound by playing golf at a nearby course situated along the coastline.

The second event I was able to attend was Urban Land Institute’s Fall Meeting and Urban Land Expo in Los Angeles.  ULI is a leading nonprofit research and education organization with over 30,000 members worldwide.  The Fall Meeting is one of the preeminent events in the industry bringing together leaders from every sector of real estate.   Over the course of the week, I attended a variety of panels, workshops, tours and networking events.  As a member of the Berkeley Real Estate Club, not only was I able to attend this conference at no cost to me, but I also was provided with a student membership in ULI.

Access to the aforementioned events has been an invaluable networking and learning opportunity for me, and represents only a small part of the diverse resources I have been exposed to while at Haas.  I truly believe that the experience and connections gained while at Haas will set the stage not only for a successful career, but for future collaboration with fellow alumni.  To me there is no question; if you plan to pursue a career in real estate, Berkeley-Haas is the place to be.

Leave a comment